Economic Human Rights (8): Poverty

Poverty is a violation of human rights. Article 25 of the Universal Declaration states:

“Everyone has the right to a standard of living adequate for the health and well-being of himself and of his family, including food, clothing, housing and medical care and necessary social services, and the right to security in the event of unemployment, sickness, disability, widowhood, old age or other lack of livelihood in circumstances beyond his control.”

And we all know the devastating effects of poverty on other human rights.

5 thoughts on “Economic Human Rights (8): Poverty

  1. http://community.how-to-draw-and-paint.com/profile/June80

    Hi
    I found this picture extremely moving, as it is the type of poverty I see regularly in towns near to me, yet have not really concerned myself with.
    I was wondering if you might give me permission to try and sketch this? I do not sell any of my sketches but do show them on the above global web site.
    Hoping to hear from you
    Regards
    June

    1. Hi June, I don’t own the copyright to that picture, but generally there is never any copyright issue with creative reinterpretation of existing images. So go ahead.

Leave a Reply

